REPORT OF THE MEMBER APPOINTMENT PROCESS PANEL 2016

This report is a summary of the individual member preferences received and considered by the Member Appointment Process Panel. The proposals below are not a recommendation from the Panel and at the Annual Meeting individual members are eligible to stand for appointment to any postion even if they have not previously expressed an interest.

A) Appointment of Authority Chair and Deputy Chair and Committee Chair and Vice Chairs

Authority

Clir C Furness or Clir D Chapman or Clir Mrs L Roberts

Clir Mrs J A Twigg

<u>Chair</u> <u>Vice Chair</u>

Planning Committee Mr P Ancell Cllr D Birkinshaw or

Cllr C Carr

Audit Resources and Performance Committee Clr A McCloy Cllr J Walton

Notes:

Standing Order 1.12 (3) and (4) state that voting for the Chair and Deputy Chair of Authority and Chair & Vice Chair of a Committee roles will be by ballot. When there are more than two persons nominated and of the votes given there Is not a clear majority in favour of one person, the person having the least number of votes shall be removed from the list and a fresh ballot taken. In the case of an equality of votes for two or more candidates the Chair shall have a second or casting vote.

For the Audit Resources and Performance Committee there is one candiaate for each role and if agreed these appointments would meet the requirements of Standing Order 1.39(1)

B) Appointment of Committees, Sub-Committees, Panels and Advisory Groups

i) Planning Committee

Chair: Mr P Ancell Vice Chair: Cllr D Birkinshaw or Cllr C Carr

Council Members: 8

Derbyshire CC

1 Cllr Mrs J A Twigg
Derbyshire Dales DC

1 Cllr D Chapman
High Peak BC

1 Cllr Mrs C Howe
Cheshire East BC

1 Cllr J Macrae

Staffordshire CC/Staffordshire Moorlands DC

1 Cllr A Hart

Metropolitan District Councils/N E Derbyshire DC

3 Cllr D Birkinshaw

Cllr H Laws

One vacancy

<u>Secretary of State Members: 7</u>

Mr P Ancell

Cllr P Brady Cllr C Carr Mr R Helliwell Ms S McGuire Cllr Mrs K Potter **One vacancy**

Notes:

Vacancies as shown above.

ii) Audit Resources & Performance Committee

<u>Chair:</u> <u>Clr A McCloy</u> <u>Vice Chair:</u> <u>Cllr J Walton</u>

Council Members 8¹ Secretary of State Members 7¹

Cllr C Furness Mrs P Anderson
Cllr N Gibson Mrs F Beatty
Cllr C McLaren Cllr A R Favell
Cllr S Marshall-Clarke Mr Z Hamid
Cllr J Walton Ms S Leckie
Three vacancies Cllr A McCloy

Notes:

Vacancies as shown above.

iii) Urgent Business Items Sub-Committee

Chair & Deputy Chair of the Authority: Cllr C Furness or Cllr Mrs L Roberts

Cllr D Chapman or Cllr Mrs J Twigg

One vacancy

Chairs & Vice Chairs of Committees:

Planning Mr P Ancell and Cllr D Birkinshaw or Cllr C Carr

Audit Resources & Performance Cllr A McCloy and Cllr J Walton

Notes

Although this Sub-Committee does not meet regularly it is still required that it should maintain the balance of Local Authority and Secreatry of State Members. The overall Committee Membership must reflect the balance of the Authority. Therefore if the Authority appoints two Members from the same constituent group as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority or as Chair and Vice Chair of a Committee, membership of this Committee would need to be adjusted to achieve this.

iv) Local Joint Committee 9 members (5 Council: 4 Secretary of State)

9 staff representatives

Council Members Secretary of State Members

Cllr D Birkinshaw
Cllr C Carr
Cllr D Chapman
Cllr C Furness
Mr Z Hamid
Cllr Mrs C Howe
Cllr Mrs K Potter

One vacancy

<u>Staff representatives</u>

Penny Aitken Tim Nicholson
Wendy Amis Chris Pownall
Jorge Aunon Nicola Howarth

Zoe Buswell 2 UNISON Representatives

v) Appeals Panel 8 members (4 Council: 4 Secretary of State)

<u>Council Members</u> <u>Secretary of State Members</u>

Cllr D Chapman

Cllr Mrs C Howe

Cllr Mrs J A Twigg

Cllr A R Favell

Cllr J Walton

Mr P Ancell

Cllr P Brady

Cllr A R Favell

Cllr A McCloy

vi) Due Dilligence Panel 1 Member and 1 Deputy Member

One Member Mr Z Hamid or Cllr C Howe

Deputy Member One vacancy

vii) Appointments Process Panel 2 Councillor Members, 1 Secretary of State Member and 1

Parish Member

Two Councillor Members Two vacancies

One Secretary of State Member Mr Zahid Hamid

One Parish Member Cllr Patrick Brady

viii) National Park Management Plan Advisory Group

Deputy Chair of Authority Cllr D Chapman or Cllr Mrs J A Twigg

ix) Strategic Advisory Group

Chair & Deputy Chair of the Authority: Cllr C Furness or Clr Mrs L Roberts

Clr D Chapman or Clr Mrs J Twigg

Chairs & Vice Chairs of Committees:

Planning Mr P Ancell and Cllr D Birkinshaw or Cllr C Carr

Audit Resources & Performance Cllr A McCloy and Cllr J Walton

Three other Members:

Councillor Cllr C Furness (unless appointed as Chair) or Cllr

Mrs J A Twigg (unless appointed as Deputy Chair)

Secretary of State Mrs F Beatty

Parish Cllr P Brady or Cllr C Carr

Notes

If the Authority appoints two Members from the same constituent group as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority or as Chair and Vice Chair of a Committee there would then be an imbalance of membership on this advisory group so Authority may wish to consider whether to appoint additional Members to address this. However as SAG is an adviosiry group that does not make formal decisions there is no requirement to maintain the balance.

x) Budget Monitoring Meeting

Chair & Vice Chair of Audit Resources & Performance

Committee:
Authority Chair

One other Member

Cllr A McCloy and Cllr J Walton

Cllr C Furness or Cllr Mrs L Roberts
Mrs F Beatty or Cllr C Furness or Cllr N

Gibson

C) Member Representative Roles and Outside Bodies Appointments

Note:

Although the Panel considered the expressions of interest for the Member Representative roles and the Outside Bodies appointments, separate reports on both these items are being made to the Annual Authority meeting. Therefore the expressions of interests for these roles and appointments are included in the 2 separate reports.